Leader and Convener appointed

Have your say

Angus Campbell was voted as Leader of the Comhairle nan Eilean Siar and Norman Macdonald was voted as the Convener this afternoon.

It was a close competition for the role of Convenor between Norman Macdonald (Sgir’ Uige agus Ceann a Tuath nan Loch), Norman Macleod (Sgire an Rubha) and Rae Mackenzie (Steornabhagh a Deas).

After no clear majority in the first vote the second vote was between the two Norman’s, with Mr Macdonald winning by one vote.

Angus Campbell (Steornabhagh a Deas) only faced competition from one other councillor, Donald Manford (Barraigh, Bhatarsaigh, Eririsgeigh agus Uibhist a Deas), but won the vote comfortably.