Kenny makes an expensive ace

A golf ball and a course hole in the distance marked by a flag.
A golf ball and a course hole in the distance marked by a flag.

One major talking point at last week’s Presidents Cup was the penalty incurred by Phil Mickelson for changing to a different type of golf ball during the four ball event.

One major talking point at last week’s Presidents Cup was the penalty incurred by Phil Mickelson for changing to a different type of golf ball during the four ball event.

His mistake should have cost the US team the loss of one hole but, because rules officials blundered initially, Mickelson and partner Zack Johnson actually lost two holes – the one they were playing when Mickelson was wrongly advised to lift his ball and forfeit the hole and the loss of hole penalty correctly incurred under the rules.

Check out today’s Stornoway Gazette for more of John Gillies’ for the rest of this article and a full sports round-up.