Semi finalists announced for 2016 national schools debate

editorial image

The Debating Chamber of Comhairle nan Eilean Siar in Stornoway was the setting for the first two rounds of the National Gaelic Schools’ Debate which took place on Tuesday and Wednesday the 8th and 9th of November.

The judges; Matthew MacIver, Christina Walker and Angus MacDonald, certainly had their work cut out whittling twenty teams down to four.

The four teams who have reached the semi-final stages of this year’s competition are The Nicolson Institute B, Inverness Royal Academy B, Lochaber High School and Glasgow Gaelic School.

The first semi-final draw will see the Inverness Royal Academy B battle against Lochaber High School.

In the second debate of the evening the Nicolson Institute B will be against Glasgow Gaelic School.

The semi-finals will be held at James Gillespie’s High School in Edinburgh on Tuesday the 29th November 2016.

The final will be held the following evening in the Scottish Parliament and will be broadcasted live on BBC Radio nan Gàidheal.

Pictured are teams:

The Nicolson Institute B

Inverness Royal Academy B

Lochaber High School

Glasgow Gaelic School