Awards for two new Gaelic writers

editorial image

The Gaelic Books Council and Scottish Book Trust have named two writers as winners of the Gaelic New Writers Awards 2016.

Jane MacLeod, a short story writer from the Isle of Lewis, and Eoghan Stewart, an Inverness based poet, have been announced as recipients of this year’s awards.

They follow in the footsteps of previous awardees, who include Niall O’Gallagher, Calum MacLeod, Christine Stone and Sandy NicDhòmhnaill Jones.

The skills development scheme, which is now in its seventh year, provides each selected writer with a bespoke package of professional guidance and training to enable them to progress with their work.

Over the course of a year, Jane and Eoghan will have the opportunity to engage in a programme that can include mentoring, manuscript appraisal, professional development workshops, and a retreat at Cove Park in Argyll.

They will also have the chance to meet other writers at a similar stage in their careers, and will perform their work at a showcase event.

Further information about the Gaelic New Writers Awards 2016 can be found on the Gaelic Books Council’s website: here

Pictured are Jane Macleod from Lewis and Eoghan Stewart who is based in Inverness.