Council candidates revealed

Sixty three candidates have put themselves forward as candidates in this year’s council elections.

In Ward 1 – Barraigh, Bhatarsaigh, Eirisgeigh agus Uibhist a Deas the candidates are: David Blaney (Independent); Peter Carlin (Independent); Calum Macaulay (Independent); Angus Macdonald (Independent); Ronnie Mackinnon (Scottish Labour Party); Allan F Macleod (Independent); Gerry Macleod (SNP); Calum Macmillan (Independent); Donald Manford (SNP); Donnie Steele (Independent) and Eric Wallis (Independent).

In Ward 2 – Beinn na Foghla agus Uibhist a Tuath – the candidates are: Neil Macdonald Beaton (Independent); Archie K Campbell (Scottish Labour Party); Michael Maclean (Independent); Uisdean Robertson (Independent); Martin Taylor (Independent) and Andrew Walker (SNP)

In Ward 3 – Na Hearadh agus Ceann a Deas nan Loch the candidates are: Catherine Macdonald (Independent); DJ Macrae (Scottish Labour Party); Philip Robert McLean (SNP) and David Cameron Wilson (SNP.

In Ward 4 - Sgir’ Uige agus Ceann a Tuath nan Loch the candidates are: Bill Houston (SNP); Annie Macdonald (SNP); Norman Alexander Macdonald (Independent); Norman A Puss Macdonald (Independent); Catherine Mary Maciver (Independent); Cudig Macleod (Independent) and Barry Steven Shelby (Independent).

Ward 5 – Sgire an Rubha – John Norman Orica Macdonald (SNP); Iain Don Maciver (Independent); Alasdair Macleod (Independent); Norman M Macleod (Independent); Donald John Macsween (Independent); Donald Nichsolson (Independent) and Zena Stewart (Independent).

Ward 6 - Steòrnabhagh a Deas the candidates are: Angus Campbell (Independent); Keith Dodson (Independent); Bob Duncan (SNP); Rae Mackenzie (SNP); Uilleam Macleod (Independent); Angus McCormack (Independent) and Charlie Nicolson (Independent).

Ward 7 - Steòrnabhagh a Tuath the candidates are: Ahmed Mohammed (SNP); Neil Campbell (Independent); Iain Maclean Macaulay (Independent); Jackie Mackay (Independent); Roddie Mackay (Independent); Iain Mackenzie (Independent); David Morrison (Independent); Gordon Murray (SNP); Murdo Angus Murray (Independent) and Kevin Paterson (Scottish Labour Party).

Ward 8 - Loch A Tuath the candidates are: Donald Finlayson Crichton (Independent); John A Maciver (SNP); Kenneth A Maciver (Independent); Alasdair Nicholson (Independent) and Catriona Stewart (Independent).

Ward 9 - An Taobh Siar agus Nis the candidates are: Alastair Dunlop (Independent); John Mackay (Independent); Alistair Maclennan (Independent); Kenneth Macleod (SNP); Iain Morrison (Independent) and Kenneth Macleod Murray (Independent).