Crofting Commission results

editorial image

The counting of the votes for the 2012 Crofting Commission Election took place in the Main Hall of Inverness Town House earlier today (Friday 16 March 2012) and six representatives have been elected to serve on the Commission Board.

Twenty-eight candidates put themselves forward and 10,877 postal ballot papers were issued to eligible voters.

During today’s count all returned valid ballot papers were counted under the Alternative Vote System.

The results are:

Western Isles Constituency - Murdo MacLennan, Stornoway

Shetland Constituency - Kathleen Ann Sinclair, Firva, Scousburgh, Shetland

Orkney and Caithness - Arnie Pirie has been elected unopposed.

East Highlands Constituency (East Sutherland, Easter Ross, East Inverness & Moray)

Donnie Ross, Strone Croft, Leault, Kincraig, Kingussie

West Highlands Constituency (West Sutherland, Wester Ross, Skye and Lochalsh) - I.G. Macdonald, Grianan, Portree, Isle of Skye

South West Highlands (Lochaber, Argyll & Bute, Arran & Cumbrae, Small Isles) - Colin Niall Kennedy, Highland Corrie, Isle of Coll

This is the first time people have been democratically elected by Scotland’s crofting community to represent their interests.

The official change from the current Crofters Commission to the Crofting Commission will now come into effect on April 1, 2012.

The Returning Officer was Chief Executive of The Highland Council, Alistair Dodds.

Speaking after he had announced the results he said: “It was encouraging to see 28 candidates from the crofting communities put themselves forward for this landmark election. It highlights the importance of this opportunity for people who are actively involved and making a living through crofting.

“I’d like to congratulate the successfully elected Board Members and wish them all well in their new roles.”

Full details of the results can be found on the home page of The Highland Council’s website - and the Crofters Commission website see