Horshader project nominated for awards

Horshader Community Development has been shortlisted for two prestigious awards: The Energy North Award for Best Community Project 2012 and a Herald Society Award.

The Horshader Community Development Trust is the first community group in the Western Isles to erect a revenue generating community-owned turbine.

By selling energy into the national grid, the 900kW turbine will bring in an estimated £2m for community of South Shawbost, Dalbeag and Dalmore over the next 20 years.

The project was made possible by funding from The Big Lottery Fund, Community Energy Scotland, CNES and HIE.

The Energy North award celebrates the contribution community projects and businesses can make to the development of the energy industry, in addition to benefitting the community.

While the Herald Society award is to celebrate community projects that have seized the opportunity of energy development in their area, in order to benefit their local area by generating revenue for the community.

Horshader’s Development Officer Angela Macleod comments: “We are delighted to be shortlisted for two prestigious awards in the same week – first of all the Herald Society Award and now The Energy North Award.

“Both awards recognise the importance of community ownership of energy projects of which Horshader Community Development Trust is a fine example.”

She continues: “Clearly the purpose of the Horshader community turbine is to put the control in the hands of the community through the gift aiding of surplus revenue, with support from the Development Trust.

“We recognise that by involving our community in the decision making process, we are supporting and enabling people to make real developments and improvements at a local level.

“However, the non-tangible benefits are of equal importance to the physical benefits that community revenue and ownership will bring.”

The winners of the Energy North award will be announced at an event on Friday, October 12 2012 at the Drumossie Hotel, Inverness.

The Herald Society awards will be announced in November.