Leaders win Scottish Local Politician of the Year Award

editorial image

The three Our Islands Our Future Leaders have been jointly named as the Scottish Local Politician of the Year.

Angus Campbell, Gary Robinson and Steven Heddle, leaders of Comhairle nan Eilian Siar and the Councils in Shetland and Orkney, were announced as winners of the award at The Herald’s Scottish Politician of the Year Awards 2013.

Our Islands Our Future has seen the three Councils join forces to press the Scottish and UK Governments for more powers before and after the Independence Referendum in September 2014.

Following the launch of the campaign in June, the Scottish Government set up a Ministerial Working Group to look at the issues raised by the Councils. The UK Government has also held high level talks with representatives from the three local authorities.

Shetland Islands Council Leader, Gary Robinson, said: “It’s tremendous to win this award. It’s a tribute not only to what we have put into this but also the small but dedicated team of people across the three Councils that have been supporting the work behind the campaign so far.”

Orkney Islands Council Convener Steven Heddle said: “This as much an award for the campaign as it is for the three Islands Council leaders. The fact that the three island groups are working together with such shared purpose and commitment has given the campaign its strength, and the fact that we’re co-operating so well is a legacy for the future in itself.”

Angus Campbell, Leader of Comhairle nan Eilean Siar , said: “ I am delighted that the initiative of the three local authorities has been recognised through this award, which reflects the hard work done by everyone involved in the campaign. Through continued co-operation we can move forward with confidence that the work can bring real benefits to our island communities.”