New Members appointed to the David MacBrayne Ltd Board


Keith Brown, Minister for Transport and Veterans, yesterday announced the appointment of Jim Stirling, Stephen Hagan and Murray Easton as Members of the David MacBrayne Ltd Board, the company which owns CalMac Ferries.

The 4 year appointments of Jim Stirling and Stephen Hagan to the David MacBrayne Ltd Board will run from 21st November 2012 to 20th October 2016.

The 3 year appointment of Murray Easton to the David MacBrayne Ltd Board will run from 21st November 2012 to 20th November 2015.

The appointments are part-time and attracts a remuneration of £314 per day for a time commitment of 2 to 3 days per month.

Announcing the appointments, Keith Brown said: “I am delighted that Jim Stirling, Stephen Hagan and Murray Easton have agreed to join the David MacBrayne Ltd Board. This will be a challenging time for the company as it delivers ferry services under existing contracts and prepares for bidding competitively for future ones.

“The company also supports the Government’s aim of sustainable economic growth in island and coastal communities and works to deliver these public services efficiently and effectively against a backdrop of significant pressure on public spending.

“The posts require an understanding of the issues which affect the social and economic life of the Highlands and Islands and a clear vision for the future. I welcome Jim, Stephen and Murray in their new roles and look forward to working with them as we seek to maintain and improve ferry services for those communities who rely on them.”

Jim Stirling was, until September 2012, Technical Director of Canal & River Trust, the new body responsible for the canal network in England & Wales. Previously, as Technical Director of the government owned British Waterways, he was Project Director for the transfer of the canals to the charitable sector and was on the team negotiating with UK Government.

Between 1992 and 2006 he led British Waterways in Scotland building partnerships to safeguard the canals culminating in the reopening of the Lowland Canals and the creation of The Falkirk Wheel. Prior to joining the public sector he worked in engineering and construction both in UK and abroad.

A chartered engineer, he brings extensive experience of working with national and local governments, passionate customers and wider stakeholders.

Stephen Hagan is a farmer and Councillor with Orkney Islands Council. He served as Transportation Chairman between 1999 and 2003 and as Convener of the Council from 2003 to 2012. He is a Non-Executive Director with NHS Orkney for which he receives an annual remuneration of £7,332.

He is also the spokesperson for Development, Economy and Sustainability with CoSLA (Convention of Scottish Local Authorities). Previous posts include, Chairman of Orkney Ferries, Board Member with the North of Scotland Water Authority and vice Chairman of both Orkney Enterprise and Orkney Auction Mart. He is a Civil Engineer graduate from Edinburgh University.

Murray Easton CBE is a Non-executive Director of the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority, for which he receives £25,000 per annum, and a Governor of the Health Foundation.

He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and has considerable experience in Shipbuilding and Ship Repair. He was Managing Director of shipyards on the Clyde, at Rosyth and Barrow in Furness and is widely acknowledged as having led their transformation to prosperous businesses. He has recently fulfilled a variety of key consultancy tasks in the Private and Public sectors.