Shortlist revealed for Donald Meek Award

Six new Gaelic books have been shortlisted for this year’s Donald Meek Award.

The Gaelic Book of the Year will be presented with the Donald Meek Award, and additional literary prizes funded by Bòrd na Gàidhlig will also be awarded.

The prize-winners will be announced at a special reception in the National Piping Centre in Glasgow on Thursday 6th October 2016.

Rosemary Ward, Director of the Gaelic Books Council said: “We are delighted that the Donald Meek Award for Gaelic literature continues to grow and attract a high calibre of entries year on year.

“We are very grateful to Bòrd na Gàidhlig for providing the necessary support to extend the range of literary prizes that recognise excellence in new Gaelic writing.

“ We received 17 entries representing a broad range of literary genres this year. The Gaelic Book Council is particularly grateful to the judges who read through all the submissions and managed to agree on those books that were worthy of being placed on the shortlist. We are particularly pleased to see new Gaelic writers taking an interest in the competition and we wish everyone on the shortlist the very best of luck.”

The following six books have been shortlisted:

An Làmh a Bheir by Seonaidh Charity; An Leabhar Liath by Peter Mackay & John S. MacPherson; Breab, Breab, Breab by John Urquhart; Crotal Ruadh by Sandy NicDhòmhnaill Jones; Granaidh Afraga by Morag Ann MacNeil ; Mil san Tì by Seonag Monk