Stornoway Trust election

The results of an election to appoint five trustees to the Stornoway Trust will be declared on March 26th.

Nine candidates are standing:

Matthew Bruce; Hamish Budge; Donald Crichton; Calum Maclean; Colin Maclean; Murdo Maclennan; Morris Macleod; Alexander John Murray; and Murdo Murray.

In line with recent Trustee elections the Trust has engaged the services of Electoral Reform Services Ltd (ERS) who will shortly issue postal ballot papers to all persons appearing on the Electoral Roll and living within the Stornoway Trust area who will be 18 years of age or over on the day of the election.

A ballot box will also be available within the Estate Office from 8am to 8pm on the day of the Election to receive voting papers from electors who may be unable to return the postal votes by the ERS receipt deadline of noon 26th March 2015.

The ballot box votes will be counted in the Woodlands Centre on Thursday evening after which the votes cast will be added to the result of the postal ballot and an announcement on the outcome issued as soon as possible thereafter.