Lewis and Harris Player of the Year nominees announced by association

The shortlist's for the Lewis and Harris Player of the Year awards have been confirmed.

Tuesday, 15th November 2016, 12:36 pm
Updated Wednesday, 16th November 2016, 5:14 pm

In the main award, league champions Lochs are well represented with four of the seven finalists all coming from the Maroons. Runners-up Point have one player on the final list while both Ness and Carloway also have a player in the running.

Robert Mackenzie and Elliot Ruddal are, for me, the front runners for the award with the Lochs man favourite on account of Lochs finishing the season as champs. But while Mackenzie should take the plaudits at the end of season awards, the omission of keeper James Macleod from the final list, after a season of personal excellence, is a huge surprise.

The keeper was immense throughout the campaign and in the final two games of the season he saved a penalty against former club Back FC to earn Lochs a 1-0 win which took them to the brink of glory. And then in the league decider against Point he produced a ‘worldy’ save to shatter Point and drag Lochs across the line.

His omission from the final list, and especially from the under-21 player list is a surprise but then football is a sport full of shocks and surprises.

Senior Player of the Year:

Jim O’Donnell – Lochs

Peter Mackenzie – Lochs

John ‘Uig’ Morrison – Lochs

Robert Mackenzie – Lochs

Elliot Ruddall – Point

James ‘Titch’ Morrison – Ness

Dan Crossley – Carloway

Under 21 Player of the Year:

Alasdair ‘Wally’ Maciver – Point

Angus Macdonald – Point

Eachainn Miller – Carloway

Innes Iain Morrison – Westside

Goalkeeper of the Year

Craig Macleod – Athletic

James Macleod – Lochs

Michael Maciver – Back

Jack Maclennan – United

The winners will be announced at the league presentation ceremony to be held in Lochs Community Centre on Saturday 26 November.