Great year for Stornoway Running and Athletics Club

editorial image

Stornoway Running and Athletics Club (SRAC) had a fantastic night to mark the end of the 2014 season at the Annual Prizegiving night recently.

It’s been another fantastic year for SRAC with the club organising the Callanish Stones Marathon, the half marathon, as well as numerous track and Xcountry events.

There were also many mainland trips, and success stories throughout they year - all thanks to the tireless work of coaches, parents and volunteers alike.

As well as the continuing growth of the senior section, the junior section have gone from strength to stength - with Connor Maclean becoming U17 1500m Scottish champion - a fantastic achievement!

There were also two other very worthy national medal winners - with Michael MacMillan (U17 800m) and Andrew Horne (U15 200m) picking up bronze medals at the National Age Group Championships, and SRAC also had a fantastic and unprecedented 16 final appearances and top 10 finishes in Aberdeen !

Over the season the juniors recorded an amazing 43 National ‘Power of 10’ Scottish rankings - across the age groups, and across the events.

So it was a great 2014 for SRAC.

Here’s to more success for the red and gold in 2015!



Bells Trophy for SRAC Team Athlete – Girls Eilidh MacLeod; Bells Trophy for SRAC Team Athlete – Boys Jonathan Morrison; The Gavin Earons - Nighean Bheag Trophy Sian MacDonald; The Sharon Rose – Balach Beag Trophy David Morrison; The Shona Gillies Trophy for the Best Female Newcomer Ellie MacLean; The Ross Munro Trophy for the Best Male Newcomer Haran Rabe; The SRAC Trophy for the Most Improved Female Athlete Caitlin MacKenzie; The Dougie Flett Trophy for the Most Improved Male Athlete Andrew Horne; The SRAC Rose Bowl for the Best Individual Female Performance Abbie MacKay; The Iain “Bom” Mackay Trophy for the Best Male Performance

Michael MacMillan; The Peter MacDonald Trophy for the Athlete of the Year Connor MacLean


Track & field champion - Alastair Dunlop; Road running champion - William MacRury; Cross country champion - Eilidh Mackenzie; Most improved athlete - John MacAskill;

Senior 10k championships - Male winner - William MacRury; Female winner - Ceit Stewart; First vet - Alastair Dunlop; Handicap winner - Jim Bruce