Lewis and Harris to crown cream of crop

editorial image

DAN CROSSLEY. Martin Maclean. Ross Hall. David Macmillan. ‘Nomie’ Macdonald. Fraser Macleod. Iain ‘Tohan’ Macleod. And Scott Maciver.

A list with so many star names they should be displayed in neon. All summer long the Lewis and Harris footie gr-eights thrilled, delighted, frustrated and wowed us in equal measure at the sharp end of the local game.

Now the Hebridean octet are lining up for one more sporting scrap after being shortlisted for the annual Senior Player of the Year award.

The six have all had outstanding seasons making it a list of the Lewis and Harris League’s cream; the players pushing for personal glory have led their club sides to the same.

Seven of the eight come from the league’s top three teams with the exception of Crossley who stars for fifth placed Carloway.

A case could be made for any of the eight but the smart money is on Maciver who is clear favourite to win the top prize for the first time. Aths’ Mr Consistency should take the plaudits at the end of season awards after another record breaking season for goals in which he helped propel his side to their first league title in six seasons.

The winner will be revealed at an event in the Caladh Hotel, Stornoway, this Saturday (October 27) at 8pm with former Lewis and Harris Senior Player of the Year Robert Mackay presenting the awards.

Carloway’s midfield magician Dan Crossley and Fraser Macleod of Back, are both up for the top gong and the under 21-player of the year prize.

But the pair are in illustrious and impressive company with Andrew Macleod (Ness), Andrew Murray (Point), Ali Macleod (West Side), DJ Macdonald (Back), Jim O’Donnell (Lochs) and Elliot Ruddal (Aths).

The top glovesmen of the campaign will also be honoured with one of the following six earning the nod for Goalkeeper of the Year: Colin Macritchie and Murdo Maciver (both Aths), James Macleod and Iain ‘Tohan’ Macleod (both Back), Cameron Houston (Lochs) and David Beaton (Carloway).

Lewis and Harris Association Chairman, Mr. Kenny Maciver has invited all those with an interest in local football to attend the event saying: “After an exciting season that saw Athletic win the League title, Carloway and Back win two trophies each and West Side lift the Eilean an Fhraoich it would be good to finish the year with a good turnout to celebrate the best of Lewis and Harris football.

“Come along and support the players who have provided such excellent entertainment for us all in 2012.”