Rugby teens romp to victory

Caledonian North U18 League Division Two

SYRFC U18s 60

Caithness 10

Following a promising first league game against Ross Sutherland the previous week Stornoway U18s welcomed Caithness to Bayhead with a full compliment to choose from and it showed as they steamrollered Caithness with a devastatingly dominant display.

From the off Stornoway were in the ascendancy looking stronger than their opponents in all aspects of the game, putting multiple phases of play together and putting good width on the ball at times.

However, when they took the lead with the first of 10 tries after ten minutes it was from loose play and a mistake from the opposition.

Sandy MacNeil made the first of what was to become a succession of line busting, long range runs from his own half. Picking up the ball on his own 10m line, he broke through a couple of tackles before eventually being brought down on the Caithness 22. Good support secured possession and following a series of drives for line, with Paul Afrin, Alick Graham and Ali Macleod to the fore, Coinneach Smith drove over for the opening score. Farrell slotted over the first of his five conversions.

Stornoway scored regularly throughout the match from here on with the bulk of the tries resulting from the strong driving play of the home forwards. Following on from Sandy’s lead there were strong runs in the loose from Mitch and Ruaridh with powerful stand-off Jeff Macdonald also providing a good platform for the forwards to drive from.

The Stornoway scores came from: Sandy MacNeil (3), Paul Afrin (2), Alick Graham (2), Jeff Macdonald (2) and Coinneach Smith. Thanks must go to the Caithness coach who agreed to referee his first match in the absence of Stornoway ref Colin Maciver.

Squad: Shaun Smith, Paul Afrin, Peter MacNeil, Sandy MacNeil, Mitchell Thomson, Alick Graham, Coinneach Smith, Ali Macleod (Capt), Alan Farrell, Jeff Macdonald (V. Capt), Euan Mackinnon, Jamie Martin, Ali Morrison, James Morrison, Jason Guilmartin, Ross Morrison, Ruaridh Macleod, Gregor Fisher and Colin Wood.