Uist shinty lads win Berneray Causeway Trophy

The Berneray Causeway Trophy is presented to Uist.
The Berneray Causeway Trophy is presented to Uist.

The youth teams of Harris, Lewis and Uist gathered at Rally Park at Sir E. Scott School,Tarbert, on Saturday to compete for the Trophy last won by Lewis in 2011.

The tournament was to be played on a league system with each team playing each other twice.

Uist were favourites to win the trophy and got off to a good start, beating Harris 3-0. Next up was Harris against Lewis with the Lewis team’s greater match experience giving them a 2-1 win.

Uist then forged ahead in the points, beating Lewis 4-0, before really getting into their stride with a 8-1 win over Harris – Calum Ferguson getting four goals.

Harris, however, never gave in and Harris captain Stuart Morrison scored the only goal Uist conceded in the tournament.

Harris then took on Lewis and scored two early goals, to which the Leodhasaich could only reply with a Sean Riddell strike.

By the final game, Uist had won the trophy, but Lewis pushed them all the way and were unlucky not to score as Uist came out 2-0 winners.

Uist were presented with the Berneray Causeway Trophy and first place medals.Lewis and Harris were presented with second and third place medals respectively.

Referee Sean MacLeod of Camanachd Leodhais presented Joseph MacInnes of Uist with the player of the tournament trophy.