Western Thistle lift Ladywell Cup

editorial image

Western Thistle were deserved winners of the under18 Ladywell Cup, sponsored by Galson Motors.

Back started the brighter but on the 10 minute mark, in their first real attack, Western Thistle were

awarded a free kick just outside the penalty box. Timmy Hunter took it and scored with a great shot that beat the wall and the Back goalie. Both sides were enjoying spells of possession but Western

Thistle always looked the better team in the final third of the pitch and it was no surprise when they increased their lead in the 30th minute with a solo effort from Innes Iain Morrison.

The start of the second half followed the pattern of the first with both teams competing well for possession but the Back boys were finding it difficult to create guilt edged scoring chances. Western Thistle’s midfield were showing a bit more composure and were that bit more comfortable on the

ball and their passing to the front men carved out some chances. In the 65th minute Thistle got another free kick just outside the box in a similar position to the one in the first half. This time

Innes Iain Morrison took it but the result was the same and with a scoreline of 3-0 it looked as if the match was over as a contest.

As to be expected, Back raised their tempo in an effort to claw their way back into the game but Western Thistle withstood everything they throw at them. However, with 5 minutes to go Western

Thistle were reduced to ten men and almost immediately conceded a penalty. The Back goalkeeper, James Macleod, converted the spot kick and set us up for a rousing finale. Try as they could, Back could not make their numerical superiority count in the time left and Western Thistle held on for the victory.

With a number of fine footballers on display, the sponsors had a difficult decision to make in

choosing the man of the match but for his overall contribution to the Western Thistle win the award went to Declan Sutherland.

The Junior Football Association would like to thank Galson Motors for their continued support of this competition.